Morocco-Nigeria Gas Pipeline Project Expands with Four African Countries’ Inclusion.

Moroccan website Hespress reported that four African countries have signed memorandums of understanding with Morocco and Nigeria to participate in the gas pipeline project between them, bringing the total number of countries involved in the project to ten countries.

According to the site, the signing took place today, Friday, at the headquarters of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) in Lagos, Nigeria, in the presence of Amina Benhadra, Director General of the National Hydrocarbons and Minerals Administration. .

He explained that a message released by the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation states that “the countries that have signed MoUs with Morocco and Nigeria are Côte d’Ivoire, Liberia, Guinea and Benin, which is a continuation of MoUs signed with the ECOWAS group . , Mauritania, Senegal, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone and Ghana last year.”

He added that “the signing of new memorandums took place on the sidelines of the meeting of the Steering Committee of the Nigeria-Morocco gas pipeline project, which was attended by representatives of the ECOWAS Economic Community and all interested countries, including: Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire , Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Gambia, Senegal and Mauritania”. And Morocco.

It is noteworthy that the announcement of a gas pipeline project between Nigeria and Morocco in 2016 took place in Abuja, led by King Mohammed VI of Morocco and former Nigerian President Mohammed Buhari. The verification is done.

Source: Hespress

Related Stories

Leave a Reply