Finalists of the Asian Under-23 Football Championship Determined for Paris Olympics 2024

The Finalists for the Asian Under-23 Football Championship are Determined

The finalists of the Asian Under-23 Football Championship, which will be held next year in Qatar, with the participation of 16 teams, and the representatives of the Yellow Continent at the Paris Olympics 2024 have been determined.

AFC U-23 Cup Qualifiers

The international break for the current month, September 2023, was marked by the AFC U-23 Cup qualifiers, which saw 15 teams reach the finals, joined by host country Qatar.

2024 Paris Olympics Qualification

Qatar will host the tournament, from which three teams will qualify directly for the 2024 Paris Olympics, from April 15 to May 3, while the fourth team will advance to the knockout stage, which will see them face Africa’s fourth continent for an additional place in the tournament global forum.

Teams Qualified for the AFC U-23 Cup Final

Teams that qualified for the AFC U-23 Cup final:

Qatar, host of the Yellow Continent Youth Championship, was joined by 15 teams through the qualifying tournaments, which saw participating teams compete in 11 different groups, with the first group qualifying directly, as well as the top four runners-up.

The winners of 11 groups qualified for the final of the Asian Under-23 Championship, namely: Jordan, South Korea, Vietnam, Japan, Uzbekistan, Iraq, UAE, Thailand, Australia, Saudi Arabia, and Indonesia.

Tickets were reserved for the top 4 runners-up teams: Kuwait, China, Malaysia, and Tajikistan.

AFC U-23 Cup Draw Date

The AFC Under-23 Cup draw is scheduled to take place on November 16 next year at AFC headquarters, but the date and location are yet to be confirmed.

Classification of Teams Qualified for the AFC U-23 Cup

Before the draw takes place, the teams that have qualified for the AFC U-23 Cup will be divided into 4 tiers, which will be distributed into the 4 groups that make up the tournament.

First level: Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Japan.

Level two: Australia, South Korea, Iraq, Vietnam.

Third level: Thailand, Jordan, UAE, Kuwait.

Level 4: Malaysia, Tajikistan, Indonesia, China.

Source: Agencies

Related Stories