officially.. "Kef" African Player of the Year 2022 Nominees Announcement

On Thursday, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced the preliminary list of 30 nominees for the 2022 African Player of the Year Award, which includes big names such as Mohamed Salah, Riyad Mahrez and Sadio Mane.

The award ceremony will take place in the Moroccan capital of Rabat on July 21 as it is known to have been canceled over the past two years due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The last award ceremony for the best in Africa was held in 2019 in the Egyptian city of Hurghada, and he received the award for the best African player of the time, the Senegalese Mane, who will move to Bayern Munich from next season, after a competition with the Egyptian Salah, his former Liverpool colleague.

Salah has previously won the award in 2017 and 2018, after Algerian Mahrez won it in 2016 after his contribution to Leicester City’s stunning surprise when he became English champion before moving to Manchester City.

Mane won the Africa Cup of Nations this year and helped advance Senegal to the 2022 World Cup at the expense of Egypt and Salah on both occasions, but they (Salah and Mane) took the FA Cup and league title together at Liverpool while they lost the final Champions League against Real Madrid and failed to win the English Premier League title with a point advantage over Manchester City, which also contributed to Mahrez becoming the English champions.

In addition to Mahrez, Salah and Mane, other African players were nominated for the Best Player award, most notably Frank Kissier (Italy, Côte d’Ivoire), Sebastian Haller (Ajax, Amsterdam, Côte d’Ivoire) , Mohamed Abdel Moneim (“Al-Ahly” from Egypt). , Egypt), Mohamed El-Nani (Arsenal, Egypt), Mohamed El-Shennawi (Al-Ahli of Egypt, Egypt), Ashraf Hakimi (France, Paris Saint-Germain, Morocco), Yassin Bono (“Seville”, Morocco), Edouard Mendy (“Chelsea”), Senegal), etc.

The nominees were selected by a panel of technical experts, African football legends and journalists.

Many awards will be presented, including best African player, best young player, best team, best coach, goal of the year and best club among other prizes.

The winners in each category will be determined by a voting committee consisting of the CAF Technical Committee, journalists, coaches and leaders of member associations and clubs.

Source: agencies

Related Stories

Leave a Reply