Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Uzbekistan: Egypt and Qatar receive status "Dialogue partners" At the Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The press service of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Uzbekistan today, Wednesday, September 14, confirmed that Egypt and Qatar received the status of “dialogue partners” in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization.

This is happening in preparation for the summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, which will be held in Samarkand on September 15-16, where the ceremony of signing memorandums of understanding on granting the Arab Republic of Egypt and the State of Qatar the status of “dialogue partners” in the SCO took place.

The Uzbek Foreign Ministry said in a statement that Secretary General of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization Zhang Ming, First Deputy Foreign Minister of Egypt Hamdi Sanad Loza and State Minister of Foreign Affairs of Qatar Sultan bin Saad Al-Muraihi signed the relevant documents.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization is an international organization founded in 2001, which includes India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Pakistan and Uzbekistan, as well as Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia as observer countries, as well as Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka as dialogue partner countries. At the summit of the organization in Dushanbe in September 2021, procedures were launched to admit Iran to the organization, and Egypt, Qatar and Saudi Arabia were granted the status of dialogue partners. This year Belarus officially applied to join the organization as a full member.

Source: RIA Novosti

Related Stories