London: UK, US, Canada and Japan to ban Russian gold imports under new sanctions

The British government has announced that the UK, US, Canada and Japan will ban Russian gold imports as part of new sanctions against Moscow in retaliation for its own military operation in Ukraine.

On the first day of the G7 summit, British Prime Minister Boris Johnson clarified: “These measures will deal a direct blow to wealthy Russian officials and strike at the heart of Russian President Vladimir Putin’s military machine,” he said.

The leaders of the G7 countries (Germany, Canada, France, Italy, Japan, the UK and the US) will hold their annual summit at Elmau Castle in the southern German province of Bavaria, where the leaders of some major countries, including US President Joe Biden, will meet starting at ten GMT hours in the Bavarian Alps.

Thousands of police officers were deployed to secure the summit, which will last until next Tuesday in a luxurious complex at the foot of the mountains, while thousands of demonstrators marched about 100 kilometers from the site yesterday, Saturday, through the streets of Munich. , to demand stronger climate action without any incidents being recorded.

Source: AFP

Related Stories