Latvian Parliament calls on EU countries to stop issuing visas to citizens of Russia and Belarus

The Latvian parliament adopted a statement calling on EU countries to immediately stop issuing tourist and entry visas to citizens of Russia and Belarus.

This coincides with the announcement by the Latvian parliament of Russia, within the framework of this statement, by the state, a “sponsor of terrorism”.

The EU is currently discussing the content of the seventh package of sanctions against Russia, including the issue of stopping the issuance of Schengen visas to Russian citizens.

On Tuesday, August 9, the heads of government of Estonia and Finland called on Europe to stop issuing tourist visas to Russian citizens, since Russian citizens can freely visit most Schengen countries with visas issued, for example, from Finland. Traveling directly from Russia to European countries has become difficult, prompting citizens to travel by train or bus to Finland or Estonia and from there to all parts of Europe.

For his part, Russian senator in the Federation Council Sergei Tsikov said that Moscow has enough tools that can harm Latvia and put it in its place, and, according to Tsykov, we are talking about economic measures, in particular, a ban on the transit of goods through Russia.

“Riga must remember that all its anti-Russian decisions will come back to haunt it over time, when Latvia itself can be recognized as a state sponsor of terrorism, because it supplies Ukraine with weapons that are used against civilians and prisoners of war,” Tsikov added.

Source: RIA Novosti

Related Stories

Leave a Reply