Following the UK and the US, Canada expands sanctions against Russia

In response to the signing by Russian President Vladimir Putin of documents on the acceptance of new territories into the country, Canada imposed new sanctions against the Russian Federation. It was attended by 43 people.

According to a statement published on the website of the Government of Canada, Tatyana Navka, the wife of Russian presidential press secretary, and their children Elizaveta Peskova and Nikolai Peskov were on the sanctions list. The sanctions also included family members of the head of the State Development Corporation Igor Shuvalov and the head of Rostec Sergey Chemezov.

According to the statement, “from now on, it is forbidden to carry out certain commercial transactions with the territories of the Kherson and Zaporozhye regions, including investments and exports.”

The Government of Canada has stated that it does not recognize the results of the referenda on the accession of the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics, Kherson and Zaporozhye regions to Russia.

Today, September 30, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed agreements on the annexation of new territories to Russia. In response, the UK expanded the list of anti-Russian sanctions to include the head of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation, Elvira Nabiullina. Similar measures were taken by the US Treasury. In addition to Ms. Nabiullina, sanctions were imposed on members of the Federation Council and relatives of Russian officials.

Source: Kommersant

Related Stories