European Parliament approves Croatia’s application to join the Eurozone

Members of the European Parliament voted for Croatia’s entry into the eurozone from January 1, 2023.

The report, which confirms that Croatia meets the criteria needed to join the eurozone, was approved by 539 MEPs, with 45 voting against and 48 abstaining.

The report notes that, despite the difficulties caused by the COVID-19 pandemic in the recent period, as well as the consequences of the Russian special operation in Ukraine, Croatia is fully prepared for the transition to the euro.

In early June, the European Commission ruled that Croatia had met the criteria for switching to the single European currency from January 1, 2023.

Source: Interfax

Related Stories

Leave a Reply