3 candidates for the presidential election in Sri Lanka

The Sri Lankan Parliament has nominated three figures in the presidential elections to be held by parliamentary vote on Wednesday 20 July.

He ran for President from the ruling coalition, the current Prime Minister and Acting President of the Republic, Ranil Wickremesinghe, from the main opposition block of MP from the ruling party and Minister of Communications in the previous administration, Dulas Alhapirom, from the Marxist-Leninist opposition coalition “National Power of the People”, leader Anura Kamara Desnayake coalition.

Earlier it became known that the leader of the main opposition bloc in the Parliament of Sri Lanka, Sajit Premadasa, refused to run for president and announced his party’s support for the candidacy of Dulas Alhapiruma, who served as sports minister. Energy and communications respectively in the government of President Gotapai Rajapaksa until April 2022, then resigned from the government.

A political crisis erupted in Sri Lanka in April 2022 due to the worst economic crisis in the history of the country, after which the country’s President Rajapaksa admitted at the end of April that the country’s economy was “destroyed” and made a series of government reshuffles, then there was a split in the ruling coalition, amid mass protests, the government was accused of pursuing the economic policy that caused the crisis.

On July 9, protesters seized the residences of the president and prime minister, and on July 13, President Rajapaksa left the country and formally resigned a few days later.

Elections will be held to select a new president, who will end his predecessor’s term, before the next national presidential election in 2024, provided that if elected, the president’s resignation.

Source: RIA Novosti

Related Stories