2023 Ballon d’Or Shortlist: Lionel Messi Expected to Lead the Nominees

Shortlist for the 2023 Ballon d’Or


Tonight, Wednesday, France Football magazine will publish the shortlist of players nominated for the 2023 Ballon d’Or. Lionel Messi is expected to top the list of candidates.

Nominations for the Ballon d’Or

According to the official account of the well-known magazine on the “X” platform, the final list for the “Golden Ball” award for men will include 3 candidates, and 2 for women.

Favorites for the Award

The nominations are in favor of Messi, who joined Inter Miami this summer to improve his record for Ballon d’Or wins and lift his tally to 8 thanks to his leadership of Team Tango in winning the 2022 World Cup.

However, the competition for the award is expected to intensify between Messi and Norwegian striker Erling Haaland, who crowned Manchester City a historic trio last season and also topped the list of top scorers in the English Premier League.

Former Real Madrid striker Frenchman Karim Benzema, who joined Saudi club Al Ittihad this summer, is the latest to win the Ballon d’Or as he won it for the first time in his career last year.

History of the Ballon d’Or

France Football awarded the Ballon d’Or to the best European player in Europe from 1956 to 1994, then to the best player in Europe from 1995 to 2006 and to the best player in the world since 2007.

And before we announce the shortlist for the 2023 Ballon d’Or today, Wednesday, in this monitoring we’ll take a look at the names of the winners of the award since its inception in 1956:

Previous Winners of the Ballon d’Or

2022: Frenchman Karim Benzema

2021: Argentinean Lionel Messi

2020: Prize not awarded due to the spread of the coronavirus

2019: Argentinean Lionel Messi

2018: Croatian Luka Modric

2017: Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo

2016: Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo

2015: Argentinean Lionel Messi

2014: Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo

2013: Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo

2012: Argentinean Lionel Messi

2011: Argentinean Lionel Messi

2010: Argentinean Lionel Messi

2009: Argentinean Lionel Messi

2008: Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo

2007: Brazilian Ricardo Kaka

2006: Italian Fabio Cannavaro

2005: Brazilian Ronaldinho

2004: Ukrainian Andriy Shevchenko

2003: Czech Pavel Nedved

2002: Brazilian Ronaldo

2001: Michael Owen (England)

2000: Portuguese Luis Figo

1999: Brazilian Rivaldo

1998: Frenchman Zinedine Zidane

1997: Brazilian Ronaldo

1996: German Matthias Sammer

1995: Liberian George Weah

1994: Bulgarian Hristo Stoichkov

1993: Italian Roberto Baggio

1992: Dutchman Marco van Basten

1991: Frenchman Jean-Pierre Babin

1990: German Lothar Matthäus

1989: Dutchman Marco van Basten

1988: Dutchman Marco van Basten

1987: Dutchman Ruud Gullit

1986: Soviet Igor Belanov

1985: Frenchman Michel Platini

1984: Frenchman Michel Platini

1983: Frenchman Michel Platini

1982: Italian Paolo Rossi

1981: German Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

1980: German Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

1979: Kevin Keegan (England)

1978: Kevin Keegan (England)

1977: Dane Allan Simonsen

1976: German Franz Beckenbauer

1975: Soviet Oleg Blokhin

1974: Dutch Johan Cruyff

1973: Dutch Johan Cruyff

1972: German Franz Beckenbauer

1971: Dutch Johan Cruyff

1970: German Gerd Müller

1969: Italian Gianni Rivera

1968: Northern Irishman George Best

1967: Hungarian Florian Albert

1966: Englishman Bobby Charlton

1965: Portuguese Eusebio

1964: Scot Denis Lowe

1963: Soviet goalkeeper Lev Yashin

1962: Czechoslovak Josef Masopost

1961: Italian Omar Sivori

1960: Spaniard Luis Soares

1959: Alfredo Di Stefano (Spain)

1958: Frenchman Raymond Kopa

1957: Alfredo Di Stefano (Spain)

1956: Stanley Matthews (England)

Source: RT

Related Stories

Leave a Reply